Title 39 Bicycling Regulations
Bicycling in New Jersey is regulated under Title 39 of the Motor Vehicles and Traffic Regulation
“Bicycle” means any two wheeled vehicle having a rear drive which is solely human powered and
having a seat height of 25 inches or greater when the seat is in the lowest adjustable position.
39:4-10 Lights on Bicycles.
When in use at nighttime every bicycle shall be equipped with: 1) A front headlamp emitting a white
light visible from a distance of at least 500 feet to the front; 2) A rear lamp emitting a red light
visible from a distance of at least 500 feet to the rear; 3) In addition to the red lamp a red reflector
may be mounted on the rear.
39:4-11 Audible Signal.
A bicycle must be equipped with a bell or other audible device that can be heard at least 100 feet
away, but not a siren or whistle.
A bicycle must be equipped with a brake that can make wheels skid while stopping on dry, level,
39:4-12 Feet and Hands on Pedals and Handlebars; Carrying Another Person.
Bicyclists should not drive the bicycle with feet removed from the pedals, or with both hands
removed from the handlebars, nor practice any trick or fancy driving in a street. Limit passengers to
only the number the bicycle is designed and equipped to carry (the number of seats it has).
39:4-14 Hitching on Vehicle Prohibited.
No person riding a bicycle shall attach themselves to any streetcar or vehicle.
39:4-14.1 Rights and Duties of Persons on Bicycles.
Every person riding a bicycle on a roadway is granted all the rights and subject to all of the duties of
the motor vehicle driver.
39:4-14.2, 39:4-10.11 Operating Regulations.
Every person riding a bicycle on a roadway shall ride as near to the right roadside as practicable
exercising due care when passing a standing vehicle or one proceeding in the same direction. A
bicyclist may move left under any of the following conditions: 1) To make a left turn from a left turn
lane or pocket; 2) To avoid debris, drains, or other hazardous conditions on the right; 3) To pass a
slower moving vehicle; 4) To occupy any available lane when traveling at the same speed as other
traffic; 5) To travel no more than two abreast when traffic is not impeded, but otherwise ride in
single file. Every person riding a bicycle shall ride in the same direction as vehicular traffic.
In New Jersey, the law states a bicyclist must obey all state and local automobile driving laws. A
parent may be held responsible for the child’s violation of any traffic law.
In New Jersey, anyone under 17 years of age that rides a bicycle or is a passenger on a bicycle, or is
towed as a passenger by a bicycle must wear a safety helmet.
On August 1, 1998 this helmet law was extended to include roller and inline skates and skateboards.
Roller skates means a pair of devices worn on the feet with a set of wheels attached, regardless of
the number or placement of those wheels and used to glide or propel the user over the ground.
The definition of bicycle with reference to the helmet legislation is a vehicle with two wheels
propelled solely by human power and having pedals, handle bars and a saddle-like seat. The term
shall include a bicycle for two or more persons having seats and corresponding pedals arranged in
All helmets must be properly fastened and fitted. Bicycle helmets must meet the federal standards
developed by the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) effective March 10, 1999 that
ensure the best head protection and strong chin straps to keep the helmet in place during a fall or
collision. Also acceptable are helmets meeting the Snell Memorial Foundation’s 1990 Standard for
Exemptions from the helmet requirement are persons who operate or ride a bicycle (as a driver or a
passenger) on a roadway closed to motor traffic; on a trail, route, course, boardwalk, path or area set
aside only for the use of bicycles. These exemptions do not apply if the areas of operation are
adjacent to a roadway and not separated from motor vehicle traffic by a barrier that prevents the
bicycle from entering the roadway. Bicyclists or passengers operating in an area where helmets are
not required who need to cross a road or highway should walk with the bicycle.
Initial violators of the helmet law will receive warnings. For minors, the parent or legal guardian may
be fined a maximum of $25 for the 1 st offense and a maximum of $100 for subsequent offense(s),
if lack of parental supervision contributed to the offense.
Bicycle salespersons and rental agents must display a sign at least 15 inches long and 8 inches wide at
the point where the transaction is completed when they sell or rent a bicycle. This sign should read:
“STATE LAW REQUIRES A BICYCLE RIDER UNDER 17 YEARS TO WEAR A HELMET.”
In the case of bicycle rentals, the salesperson/rental agent must provide a helmet, if necessary, for a
For additional information